AQ125A won't fire

warlock73

Cadet
Before I begin, let me say I have looked in the forum and have found a ton of info on this subject. I am just a backyard mechanic, if its fairly simple to do, I'll try it myself to save money. So far I have $40 bucks into this project, but I think it beats $80 an Hr. plus parts at the marina. Here goes...
I bought an 82 Bayliner with an AQ125A/270 Volvo Penta. Guy said it ran, but a little rough. From what i have checked into so far, I know they are cold blooded anyway. He put new plugs and wires in it and fixed a crack in the water manifold from not winterizing. O.K, no biggie, I bought it as a fixer upper anyway as long as the motor was solid, and it was.
First time out I adjusted the carb to manuel specs, cleaned out carb with spray and it ran great. Next time out to check an outside transom seal I replaced, it would nt run. Took it home to fiddle around, wiggle wires, clean points and distributor cap, no dice. Replaced points and rotor, no dice again. Replaced condenser, same result. Just not getting spark at the plugs.
Now I am leaning toward the coil. It seems to check out though with the ohm meter, primary is strong and secondary is about a quarter strength. I dont have the specs though. Do these just go out? or can they work intermittently, because it fired up in the driveway a couple times then nothing again. Now that I write this I just realized before when I checked for spark with the plug out, puffs of gas came out the cylinder and last night it did nt when checking again.
Should gas be spraying into the carb when trying to start? I know the tank is full. Anything about the coil will be usefull info. I have been at this for 4 days now. Am I gonna have to take it to the shop after all? These older motors seem so basic compared to todays, how tough can this be? I am going nuckin' futz here !! Please help ! The holidays comeing and I would like to use this boat. Thanks in advance.

searay3

Senior Chief Petty Officer