1983 15 HP evinrude trouble

Sher-wood

Cadet
I have a 15 HP Evinrude that I purchased from a older gentleman near Minneapolis MN 1 year ago. Since I have had it I have had to replace the coil and spark plugs. Nothing unexpected.

Today I had my boat out and whenever I reached full throttle my engine would kick out of "forward" gear into neutral. When it was doing this the RPMs were very high. I reached over and pull it back into forward then it was good to go until I reached full throttle again. Then repeat, repeat, etc...

My motor is very cold blooded even in this Minnesota heat (70 degrees is hot right?). The motor has new spark plugs. I think the carb might need to be cleaned. I am a newbie when it comes to outboard motors. I would like to do stuff myself if possible. Is cleaning the carb an easy chore or something for a pro to look at?

And another thing, I observed that the lower unit was bent when I turned the prop by hand. Is this something to worry about or do I need to get a replacement immediately? If I need to change this, is it a troublesome task?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks again,

Adam

jbjennings

Captain
Re: 1983 15 HP evinrude trouble

The carb is very easy to clean. You should also check to see that your choke plate is closing fully when you pull the choke. If it doesn't close completely, then it will always be hard to start.

The lower unit problem you describe is either due to a mis-adjusted shift lever, or more likely, a bad clutch dog and/or bad gear ears. If adjusting the shift lever doesn't fix it, you will have to disassemble the lower unit and see what you need. You don't want to know how much the gears cost new..

Do you mean when you say the lower unit is bent that the prop shaft is bent? If so, you need to disassemble the lower unit anyway and replace that shaft, since no seals will work and water will get in your lower unit and eventually ruin it.

Hope this helps,
JBJ

Sher-wood

Cadet