Trouble starting cold in the water

mla2ofus

Chief Petty Officer
I have a '98 Force 90 HP. Today I backed the tlr in the water and tried to start engine before releasing it from the tlr. It would try and then the starter bendix would kick out. After several of these tries I raised the motor up quite a ways w/ the T&T and then it started up fine. Once it warmed up, no more problem. It would start right up. It's never done this before and I'm wondering if someone has an answer for this?
TIA,
Mike

john from md

Commander
Re: Trouble starting cold in the water

Join the club.

My carbs, choke etc are all set up per the manual and I am a professional mechanic and it still doesn't start well when it is cold.

Force engines are notoriously cold blooded and seem to start better with the trottle in fast idle. I find, from leaving the engine tilted, that oil builds up in the intake. On the first start of the day, I usually start without the choke and it seems to start faster. It still kicks the starter out a time or two but that seems to be their nature.

I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.

John

mla2ofus

Chief Petty Officer

Join the club.

My carbs, choke etc are all set up per the manual and I am a professional mechanic and it still doesn't start well when it is cold.

Force engines are notoriously cold blooded and seem to start better with the trottle in fast idle. I find, from leaving the engine tilted, that oil builds up in the intake. On the first start of the day, I usually start without the choke and it seems to start faster. It still kicks the starter out a time or two but that seems to be their nature.

I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.

John