Am i in to deep

kennethc81

Cadet
:D
so i have a 95 johnson 115, model j115tleor. the piston ring failed and totally destroyed my piston, head and cylinder wall, well not so bad on the cylinder wall. i suspect the failure was caused by loss of spark. i have undertaken the rebuild as a DIY project cause of the insane repair costs i was quoted. currently i have it striped to just the block, crankcase, intake and exhaust manifold. i am ready to lift the enigne and put in on a bench to strip the rest of the way. i have everything labled, i mean every bolt every wire ever nut and all bolts are in baggies and sealed. and im pretty confident in my skills although this is my first outboard repair of anykind. i have the manual and i am a engineering electrician so tech manuals, drawings and schematics are part of my everyday life. so when i say this is my first outboard repair i mean my first, never even changed a sparkplug on a outboard. am i in to deep on this, any advice before i go breaking open the crankcase and pulling pistons out. i do plan on boring all cylinders just cause it would be stupid not to. i feel confident but who knows what i might encounter. thanks for any advice.

iwombat

Captain
Re: Am i in to deep

You need to accurately diagnose and treat the original problem or you'll be back doing it again in short order. No spark is not a very likely culprit for a ring failure. Diagnose first before tearing it down any further.

kennethc81

Cadet

what are some common ring failure cause's? loss of oil. if its an internal problem i cant determine the cause without tearing it down. everything so far has looked good, carbs are clean and easy to move, flywheel looks great. i looked in the intake with a flash light and looks clean free of carbon build up. so loss of spark is my only suspect at this moment.

Randybeall

Petty Officer 1st Class