Ballasts on a 17 ft bayliner?

abbysuncle

Recruit
I have a 17 1/2 foot bayliner and found a guy to build me a tower. I was gonna get a couple of ballasts (water filled) for a bigger wake but my boat has a four cylinder (120 hp) and someone said it would be too much of a strain on my motor. Does anybody know?

jayinpa68

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Ballasts on a 17 ft bayliner?

If you dont mind me asking what type of motor and drive is it?

abbysuncle

Recruit

Its a ford 4 cylinder (like the old pintos) with a cobra transom

yellow3

Recruit

I learned behind a 17 ft. glastron (135 hp) before i graduated to a tige and the absolute best thing to do is put a 540 or 600# fatsac right smack dab in the middle of the boat. depending on the way that boat is designed the most weight you'll be able to easily plane is right around 900#

Utahboatnut

Senior Chief Petty Officer

What is the rated capacity of the boat? Youy might be able to get a good feel if you have as many BIG buddies as the boat is rated for go with you to weight it down a bit, and see how it does 120 horse with a whole bunch of extra weight and expected to pull a wakeboarder might be asking a lot. I would try it out before I spent a bunch of money on custom sacks but thats just me. I am assuming its a bit older boat, which means that 4 banger has been working hard for a while now keep an eye on your temps and oil pressure/usage try with free removable weight then base decision from there. Just be careful not to totally overload or exceed the hulls capability they can and will give you a ticket. Also once you are up try messing with the trim a little bit to see if that will help your wake.

bowman316

Lieutenant Commander

try moving any weight you can to one side, then one side of the wake will be bigger, allowing you to get more air on jumps.
Are you just skiing with this, or you trying to wake surf with a surfboard?