65 hp evinrude losing fuel prime? or bad carbs?

BigJ08

Petty Officer 1st Class
Well the motor is a 1973 65hp evinrude. Have had the boat back in the water for about 2 months now and she has run top notch, never even a hiccup. But yesterday I was out at the lake doing some kneeboarding and it started acting up. The symptoms are that it slowly runs out of steam almost like its losing the prime on the fuel system. All of the fittings and the tank are less than a year old so I don't think I have an air leak anywhere, but it has done this before and an air leak was the problem (hence the new tank and fittings/hose). The only other thing I can think of would be junked up carbs but it hasn't been sitting as I run it almost every weekend. Any ideas/comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. John.

tevans720

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 65 hp evinrude losing fuel prime? or bad carbs?

My first thought would be; Are you still using gas from last year? I'm not a expert by any means but just giving my 2 cents from my experiance. It does sound like it starving for fuel from what you explained. I also think you might be on the right track thinking the carbs are gummed up. Pull em off clean them up real good and try it again

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

vent open on fuel tank? the bulb is suppose to soften when the fuel pump starts pick up fuel. did you check spoark and compression?

BigJ08

Petty Officer 1st Class

My first thought would be; Are you still using gas from last year? I'm not a expert by any means but just giving my 2 cents from my experiance. It does sound like it starving for fuel from what you explained. I also think you might be on the right track thinking the carbs are gummed up. Pull em off clean them up real good and try it again

Yeah I think I'll pull the carbs and give a good cleaning, I've done them a couple of times before.