1960 glastron fireflite R&R

Ok i have just goten my hands on a 1960 glastron fireflite with a evinrude lark 35 hp motor. i need some help to know if i am doing this rite. my grandfather gave me the boat said it needed only a littel work to get going but here is what i have found so far. the wood around the inerbody was soft so i riped it out to replace it. when i was doing that i found some holes in the glass floor (not covering the plywood) and then found that the back of the boat where the motor rests was growing weeds. so i took the top off the boat. then removed the back support (it was falling apart in my hands) now i need to know if i should make it thicker then the stock size. and if i should remove the sub floor to check the wood on the bottem of the boat. i am looking to do this rite. i have lots of expireance with glass as i have built a airplane with my dad. i know motors as i am a mechanic. but boat in genral i know nothing of. other thanhow to drive them. i will upload pics of what i have done this far. any help would be great thank

Attachments

• boat1.JPG
    boat1.JPG
    62.3 KB · Views: 1
  • boat 2.JPG
    boat 2.JPG
    64.5 KB · Views: 1
  • boat3.JPG
    boat3.JPG
    59.8 KB · Views: 1
  • boat4.JPG
    boat4.JPG
    48 KB · Views: 1
  • boat5.JPG
    boat5.JPG
    63.7 KB · Views: 1

capri1600

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1960 glastron fireflite R&R

You have come this far and based on the wood in the pictures, I would definiately go ahead and take it all the way down to fiberglass and replace all the wood.

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

You're on the right track, clean out the old dust/wood and replace with sealed, solid wood. If that's a glass hull, put a keeper across it in a couple of spots so the hull won't spread/sag while you've got the cap off...otherwise getting the cap back on can be a chore.