Old humminbird fish finder???

Status
Not open for further replies.

torijake

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Have an old humminbird fish finder,that reads 28 to 30 ft etc of water when i can see bottom and know is 3-6 ft.I am new to this and have programmed it to where i think it should be.Is it just old and dead or could there be something else i am missing,and need a new one ......
Thanks John......................

John_S

Rear Admiral
Re: Old humminbird fish finder???

Find a menu option to reset defaults, if it has one. What model is it?

torijake

Petty Officer 3rd Class

All it says on it is humminbird Wide Eye (C) Serial #4245634.

Thanks for anymore info and help.....
John

John_S

Rear Admiral

In case you do not have user's manual: http://www.humminbird.com/PDF/wideeye.pdf

Check to make sure transducer is parrellel to bottom. It is easy for them to get pushed up in an angled position when loading/unloading from trailer, etc. Also, sometimes high-speed or loose attachment bolt.

Try resetting defaults and see what it reads in deeper water. Shallow hard bottom can cause problems, but it is unusual to hold a steady 30' in 3 FOW. That is why I suspect transducer position. If it reads something more reasonable in deeper water, try lowering sensitivity in shallow water.

torijake

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Imported John S.Thanks a ton for the info and site for manual.I will check your suggestions out today.
Again thanks.....
John....

Jake&Tori

Recruit

Imported John S.Thanks a ton for the info and site for manual.I will check your suggestions out today.
Again thanks.....
John....