newbie looking to get into boating

mgmarsh39

Seaman Apprentice
Hi everyone!

I have never owned a boat in my entire life, but I live in Florida on the Gulf and would love to get my very own boat. My wife and I have been talking about this for a while, but I am not really sure where to get started. We took a trip to the keys last summer and did some rentals and had a great time. We did jet skiis and small cattameran (sorry for the spelling) trips.

I have been looking on ebay etc and have found some good deals, or at least good deals to me. *again I have no boating experience at all* I have been talking with friends that have experience and they have steered me toward a 17-18ft boat with an outboard motor. I have a mazda cx-7 with 2500lbs towing, so I am pretty sure it would be able to handle a small boat.

The boat I found is a 1994 maxum 1700xr with a 100hp outboard. This is an ebay auction, but its only a couple hours away, so I could go check it out. I dont want to spend more than 3-4grand, but I also dont want to buy a POS to throw a bunch of money at.

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

halas

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: newbie looking to get into boating

If you want an all purpose fishing boat get a Mako17 CC. or similar.
If was cheap be ready to spend more money on repairs (just in case). If you are not handy have a few $1000 ready after the purchase.
I would look for a boat that was on trailer without bottom paint stored indoors between uses. It would be great if you could fine a well kept, one owner boat.
Lots of good deals out there.

capt sam

Master Chief Petty Officer

In all honesty the Ft Myers CL is loaded with local boats, they are gonna be more conducive to what you need. I would sign up for a Coast Guard Aux class and hold off on buying just yet. I think boats will be cheaper this summer here and it'll give you time to do some more homework, boats can be great but they can also be a lot of headaches if you rush the buy.

mgmarsh39