1957 lark help!!

ddycheeks

Cadet
hello im new to this so here are a few questions i have, how do i replace the impeller, also how much will a small air leak in the gas tank affect the engine? i bought it with a shell lake dart 59 for $600 im trying to restore it on a budget haha. I took it out yesterday and it was a pain to get started (pull start, the starting solenoid or relay or whatever it is was blown when i got it) and when i did get it started it would sputter then die i adjusted the low carb setting got it to run and took it out for a while then it died once i lowered the rpm when i entered the no wake zone (yay for paddles haha). i replaced the fuel lines resealed the gas can and here is one final question i knoticed the carb settings have a stop on the intake but when i got it the high speed was missing the stop so i need to know what are the settings to put them to so i can get her running good again? for instance high needs 1.5 turns out from closed thanks in advance for all of your help.
chris

coolguy147

Commander
Re: 1957 lark help!!

ok well first off ehck compression in the motor u need to know whether the motor is acually worth working on

F_R

Supreme Mariner

With a compression gage. Screw it in the spark plug holes and crank the engine till you get the highest reading. Oh, and on the 35, first disable the compression relief, that flat bar on top of the recoil starter.

It probably has bad coils. Since you admit to knowing nothing about what you are doing, you really really need to start off with a good shop manual. You need a flywheel puller and torque wrench to work on the ignition (coils).

The normal high speed needle opening is only about 1/2 turn or less. 1 1/2 turns on the slow speed.

ddycheeks

Cadet