Battery hook-up help

Brewer45

Cadet
Hello All,

I?ve got a question about hooking up a battery on a 2008 Monterey 214 FS. Well, I?m a new owner as of last summer and I just took it out of hibernation last weekend, however I have a rather embarrassing problem. I had it winterized at the marina and they of course took the battery out. I was going to hook it back up and I noticed 5 battery wires instead of 2. The boat came with 1 battery and has a battery switch. There are 2 main Pos and Neg wires but there are also 3 smaller wires connected to these main wires. One is yellow, one is black, one is red; the two Main wires are Red (Pos) and Yellow (Neg).

I know, maybe a pretty dumb question, but I don?t want to fry anything when I hook up the battery.

Help very much appreciated!

Joseph10

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: Battery hook-up help

I cannot tell what is what just from the description. Sometimes they are marked "neg" or "pos". Maybe check for a marking.

Otherwise, I would let someone who is familar with the boat harness hook this back up. Taking a risk of hooking it up backwards would not be worth it.

flargin

Chief Petty Officer

Other things to think about.

Hook up the mains as you expect.

Leave the others "off" figure out what is not working, then you may be able to chase them back.

Also,

-not always reliable-- are there in-line fuses? normally - or supposed to be- positive.

- Sometimes the eye will not fit on the positive it if is a negative (larger positive.

- otherwise find someone who understands cars/boats/electronics and they should be able to help you figure it out. Then mark them... or add a distribution bar/bolt.

mont214FS

Cadet