Should I buy this ???

jayard78

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am about to purchas a boat, motor, trailer deal.

Boat is a 1975 17ft. orlando clipper in decent shape, little cleaning up needed.

Trailer is a 1975 no rust (not really concerned about trailer)

MOTOR is a 1986 VRO50 Johnson w/o trim and tilt.
Compression is 138 psi upper, 140 psi lower
Motor is pretty clean, starts and runs but backfired quit a bit. Had not been started since Sept. though.

Also I already have a 1985 VRO50 Johnson with a blown piston that has tilt and trim and other the piston the motor is very nice. (got it with another boat I bought but piston was fddd.) (Great parts motor for the 1986 tho)

So the motor trailer boat $1000. My gut tells me yes, what you think?

Also does anyone know what overheating safety mechanisms this motor has? I had a 1980 Merc and fried it all to hell cause I had no warning of over heating and I am a noob still.

An alarm or even a shut off mech would be great for a motor killer like me.

HybridMX6

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: Should I buy this ???

Sounds like a good deal, I'd do a minor overhaul of the motor though if you do buy it. Clean carbs, new impeller, etc. Is the VRO still hooked up? It's up to you, but I believe it's those early year ones that were problematic.

itsaboattime

Senior Chief Petty Officer

My gut tells me no. That boat is 35 years old and unless it is in excellent shape its worth,to me, about $800.00. The motor backfiring gives me a little pause. I would check the l/u oil for water and the condition of the oil. I would be buying the motor and the trailer, the boat would be free.

There should be an overheat alarm in the contol box. I'm not sure what controls you have but there should be a slot near the ignition/key switch that is used to check the overheat alarm. You can use the key to test the alarm by inserting it in the slot. the alarm should sound.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Sounds like a decent deal to me.

kenmyfam