Darn this TM cant fish !!

Tealc11

Cadet
OK I will start from beginning, bought a 98 Sprint bass boat. The previous owner had a Minn Kota Egde 70lb thrust TM installed. I have had enough time on the water to know that the TM was not working correctly. So I begin my investigation. I am a novice so I went to the web for help -- my first guess is that the TM seems to be only drawing 12v ( it needs 24v of course)

OK So I open the battery compartment and sure enough 2 batterys, but they are NOT hooked up to run as 24v --( no connector going from + batt 1 to - batt 2 )

each battery has a black and red connector -- I start tinkering around, I found that 1 red and 1 blk connected to ONE battery = TM prop spins but not very well at all (12v) --- ok I disconnect those 2 and try the OTHER red and black and NOTHING at all happens ( scratches head)

So I go back to the first red and black connections and try a 24v setup with batteries linked red connected to batt1 , blk connected to batt 2 , and the battery is linked with a connector + to - , I was certain this was gonna fix my issue but NO DICE -- TM doesnt come on at all

So I am stuck -- any suggestions ? -- Why are there 2 red and 2 blck connectors for the 2 batterys? is that standard for 12 v TM? I am thinking maybe the original TM was 12 v --- and who ever installed the 24v didnt compensate correctly. I was really surprised that 1 batt seems to move the prop at half speed but making it into a 24v set up stops the spinning completely : (

please help

MD

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Darn this TM cant fish !!