2001 Yamaha 150 HPDI Hot Start issue

bald eagle44

Cadet
Good Afternoon,

I am looking for some guidance on a hot start issue...I have no mechanical experience or talent...I have a 2001 150 HPDI that fires up when it is cold very nicely. However, after it has been running for awhile and then shut down. It will turn over but takes quite some time to fire up. It then smokes for about 20 seconds or so and eventually starts to run smoothly. It acts like it has been flooded or something. I changed the plugs and fuel filter to no avail. The engine has 142 hrs. Anybody have any ideas? Thanks in advance.

cousinabe

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: 2001 Yamaha 150 HPDI Hot Start issue

Sounds like you have some sort of fuel system issue.

I would start with a fuel rail presure check at the medium pressure valve,test for compression and spark. test the plug cap resistance and if all look good have a look at it while cranking with the laptop.
also test the lift pumps for leakage,if a diaphram is leaking it can create an excessivly rich fuel mix at hot restart.

What is the maint history on your motor?
Low pressure fuel pumps, VST filter, pressure reg screen, medium pressure filter, inline check valve removed, thermostats, water pump, tech bulletins, etc?

the Z motors are run at the ragged edge of lean to start with and wont tolerate much of anything going wrong and they will detonate a piston.

Here are some good posts on the Z motors pertaining to maintenance items.
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=271506 <-- this one sounds like your issue.

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=200330
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=291099

If you plan on being a Do It Yourself'er, you must get a factory manual and test equiptment.

bald eagle44

Cadet