Oil Injection Removal 1995 Merc XRI 150

BassFish

Cadet
I have a 1995 Mercury Outboard 2.5L XRI serial #: OG147409. The plastic gear inside the block that turns the oil pump has stripped and I need to convert this engine to premix. Are there any kits available to do so or what will I need to get? Also, what can be done about the warning module to silence the oil alarm?

Thanks

James P

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Oil Injection Removal 1995 Merc XRI 150

http://continuouswave.com/whaler/reference/mercuryOilInjection.html

I'm no expert so I don't know what all might be involved with the plastic inside the engine. I do know that in my 2001 150 hp Mercury I had to put a dummy driven gear in place of my steel gear to keep a bushing in place. This part costs about $8. To stop the alarm the correct way is to disconnect a certain wire. I just basically tied "up" the magnetic float in the oil tank on the motor with teflon tape. There are other tubes to disconnect and plug and also it's best to make the fuel line "in line" so as to not still be connected with the oil lines but I can't put it into words. I'm sorry about that but it's pretty simple once you start following the lines.

Hopefully this link will get you started.

Greybeard51

Recruit