225 looper ignition problems

wesley pipes

Seaman Apprentice
i have some experience in outboards and i had made a deal with a guy to repair his boat in trade for a trailor. basicall he took a mercury off and hung the johnson on there and im wiring it up as we speak. he was having problems with geting fire so he gave me a new stator, power pack and all new coils (he obviously had no idea either) so i replaced them all and now i am getting fire on the #6 cylinder and that is it. i have eliminatyed the keyswitch and disconnected the wiring harness so now it is all motor what now??? the shop i work for has taugh me nothing but to change parts out not to diagnoss the problem

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: 225 looper ignition problems

The spark test, having the spark jump a mandatory 7/16" gap must be performed with the spark plugs REMOVED.

The engine must be cranking over at least 300 rpms in order for the stator to provide the proper voltage needed in order to energize the powerpack.

A slow cranking engine will emit weak, erratic, or no spark.

CharlieB

Vice Admiral

Download the FREE CDI Outboard Ignition Troubleshooting Guide from

www.rapair.com

They wrote the book on OB ignition systems and guide you through every test

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

Mr. Reeves was writing the book at OMC when CDI Electronics still belonged to Rapair.

I strongly suggest that you follow his reasoned approach to troubleshooting your problem.

wesley pipes

Seaman Apprentice

i clicked on the link and tried to download some of the troubleshooting guides but as soon as i click on it a new window apears but nothing is on the page. it says done loading at the bottom and all but nothing. thank you so much for the advice though

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

try: http://cdielectronics.com/