Do you regret buying a 4 stroke?

jdlough

Master Chief Petty Officer
I'm used to small 2-strokes. The boat I'm looking at has a 115HP Merc 4-stroke.
I don't know 4-strokes. Boats are supposed to be 2-stroke.

Anybody have regrets over getting a 4-stroke? Maintenance, weight, cost for what you're getting, etc?

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: Do you regret buying a 4 stroke?

JD, The move to DI and 4 cycle outboard motors is inevitable. It will also cause design changes to boats to adapt them to the heavier 4 cycle and DI motors. Also, the difference in weight between the 2 cycle and 4 cycle motors is diminishing, and the 4 cycle fuel economy is better. I therefore do not think your question is anything more than a nostalgic look at the past. Certainly there are some who regret buying any tyoe of motor

stubbsboogie

Chief Petty Officer

I graduated from a small two stroke to a larger four. The only thing I regret is not doing it sooner. queiter, better on gas, better for the environment. All around in my opinion just better!

marquette

Petty Officer 1st Class

i went from a 40hp Yamaha 2 stroke to a 30hp honda 4 stroke. the only regret i have is that i wanted slower and quieter and didn't realize how slow a 4 stroke would troll. i went down 10hp thinking that was what i needed to go as slow as what i wanted. if i was buying again i would have just shifted from a 40hp 2 stroke to a 40hp 4 stroke. the 30hp goes so slow most of the time i have to speed it up to get to the speed i want to troll at. the quietness at slow speeds is worth any 4 stroke drawbacks to me.

coolguy147

Commander

well see how they last in 50 years time?

only thing is if its fuel injected and junk u cant really work on it ur self if somehting goes wrong with it. we all know when it comes to fuel injected virtually everything is the same now. but i still rather have a optimax or etec or anyother other 2 stroke fuel injected models

prefer etecs though the price tag makes u run away

octane