steerin bushing

alek72us

Cadet
i just bought a 1989 carrera elite open bow 5.7 alpha one. my first boat. when i went to go pick it up the guy i bought it from told me the steering needs a neopreem bushing. but didn't tell me where. i should of asked more questions but i didn't. he acted like i couldn't buy one he knew i was a machinist and told me i could make one. my problem is is that i don't know what he is talking about, and i would make one but i don't know what it looks like or where it goes anyone here know what he is talking about.

Fishermark

Vice Admiral
Re: steerin bushing

Welcome aboard!

It's time to start turning, pulling, and pushing to see where any "slop" might be. I doubt you will find it as simple as replacing a little bushing however. Look and see how much play there is in the outdrive - it could be the bushings in the ginbal ring - not an easy fix. Or something else.... only you can tell. It's time to get acquainted with your setup. ;)

Good luck! Post back once you have narrowed down where the "slop" is.

alek72us

Cadet

i haven't looked at the boat yet, but i did talk to the previous owner. and he said the bushing is under the dash in the steering shaft housing. does anyone here know were i can get one?

Bondo

Staff member

and he said the bushing is under the dash in the steering shaft housing. does anyone here know were i can get one?

Ayuh,... You Replace the Whole Helm,+ the Cable....

Sounds like that 1 is Junk...

Zackman

Petty Officer 1st Class

You may want to wait till you actually see the boat and find out what is wrong before spending more money ;) (See Fishermark's reply)

If the bushing is bad, as the previous owner suggests, you will need to get specific information on that particular steering column.

Have you asked the previous owner what part is needed, how much it's going to cost, and where can you get it? I'm pretty sure he would have looked into it before selling it "as is".​

alek72us

Cadet