Help Transducer Placement on Fishmaster 1960

hriley010

Cadet
I have a 2004 Fishmaster 1960 that was made by Kenner. I am trying to install a Humminbird 797c2 fish finder and I have already struck out once. I put the transducer on the outside of the hull on the back of the boat to the right of the indented area of the hull and it losses bottom signal at any speed higher than idle. I tried it under the spot where it is now and the same thing. I am mounting it in the hull now and I hope this works, but if not... Could it be that the wires to my Suzuki 140 4-stroke could be causing my interference or the fact that the battery the transducer is connected to is the same as the one that runs the big motor? Any help would greatly appreciated, I am tired of being the guy that can?t get it right. Also if you know how to post the pic I took of it that might help or I could email it to you.

Attachments

• 1IMG_0111.JPG
    1IMG_0111.JPG
    45.7 KB · Views: 0

John_S

Rear Admiral
Re: Help Transducer Placement on Fishmaster 1960

Don't waist time mounting in hull, SI will not work. I'll post latter on a number of options. SI transducer positioning takes some patience.

John_S

Rear Admiral

A great source for allot of HB side imaging info, including transducer placement: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/sideimaging/

OK, getting a good left and right SI, along with good 2D at speed, can be a big challenge. Keep in mind, that the proffesional SI systems generally use a tow-fish that is a ways behind the boat, clear of any obstructions or wakes.