95' 110hp Johnny wiring help!

Jeepinvusa

Seaman Apprentice
Hi guys,
I'm pretty new to the johnny-rude family and very proud to join.

-I bought a used 1995 110hp Johnson with the "old style" wiring harness. The seller didnt give me the control or key switch so i went out to my local dealer and was talked into buying a "newer" OMC throtle/shifter with tilt/trim, built-in key switch, and horn. I cheaped out and did not buy the wiring harness adapter thing cause i was told that i could splice it into the "newer" box. Now im stuck in a ruck and have no idea what do to. I know plenty about wiring but nothing about this engine or the color wires... can anyone please help? are there any wiring diagrams for this? I know it can be done. Thank you much!
Leo

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Re: 95' 110hp Johnny wiring help!

Leo, I would have thought that the wiring colors on your motor would be the standard ones. Here are the colors from my '98 Johnny 150V6

yellow/red - +12V to starter solenoid
purple - ign accessory
black - ground
red - +12V unfused
red/purple - fused +12V
Grey - Tach signal
blue/white - trim up
Green/white - trim down
white/tan - trim gauge sender
black/yellow - ignition kill wire (grounds to kill spark)
purple/white - choke or enrichener
Tan - overheat signal to horn
black/white - looks to be ground to choke
Tan/yellow, tan/black, tan/orange - various sensors like low oil, no oil, check engine(you probably do not have this)

Those should be the ones that go to the key switch

Jeepinvusa

Seaman Apprentice

Hey chris, Thanks a bunch...
So far these are the colors i have on my harness...

-RED/(LIGHT-BLUE,PURPLE,GREY) - fused +12V OR +12V Solenoid???? (no fuse on the line btw. kinda confused about it.
-PURPLE - Ign Accesory
-BLACK - Grd
-BLACK/YELLOW - Kill Switch
-PURPLE/WHITE - Choke Enricher
-TAN - Overheat Horn Signal
-GREY - Tach
-White - ???????????

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner