'70 Johnson 25 - need help to avoid bad buy!

cparkerc

Seaman Apprentice
Afternoon everyone,

Looked at a '70 johnson 25 hp tiller, short shaft today. The guy ran it for me and it seemed to run smooth and the engine looked clean and in good shape, but noticed a couple of things that i need your help to see what i am seeing. I am a complete novice at boat motors, other than what i have been reading here the last few months. The serial # is E3274143 and the model is 25RL70E.

1) When he started the motor, i immediately saw that the pea stream was not strong. Water was dripping from under the cowling so i asked if he would run it eith the cover off. Looked like the water was coming out somewhere at the back of the motor. He is going to get his mechanic neighbor who did the recent tune up work on the motor (carb rebuild, impeller, serviced lower unit) to check it out and he will get back to me. Any ideas and should I haul *** away from the deal?

Now i have the year right, thanks TD!
Thanks for the advice, i appreciate it a great deal.

Carrington

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: '74 Johnson 25 - need help to avoid bad buy!

shift on that motor is on the side. the tiller end handle turns for the throttle.

it is a 1970 25 E does stand for Electric Start.

some one may have added a tale tell to the motor.

cparkerc

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks TD,

Just to clarify,

what did you mean about adding the tell tale, did you mean tall tale??

Any ideas on the water from the back of the engine?

Thanks again

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

The model number is for a rope start engine.

25= hp
R= rope start
L= long (20") shaft
70= 1970 model

The "E" is a model run and of little importance.

There was a kit to make it electric start, which may have been added. If there are teeth on the flywheel it has been converted to electric start.

It originally did not have a tell tale, but that also might have been added.

cparkerc

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks JB,