Update Time Again

dolluper

Captain
AVG free is 8.5 now time to get it your using 8.0 as it will stop working right if you don't.....mine said it was corrupt so I updated....the joy of something free eh!

axeslinger1957

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Update Time Again

Dolluper:

I put AVG on my computer when I first got Internet access nine years ago (I didn't want Internet -- my wife insisted. Since I'm a software developer, this was something like the cobbler's family not having shoes. But I digress...) Anyway, AVG was the cat's rear for me for all of that time -- until last year -- when it started insisting I update to the pay version and appeared to be causing me performance problems. In fact, I couldn't even FIND an update to the free version to download! I got rid of AVG, went antivirus hunting on CNET, and found a nice little virus checker called Rising Antivirus.

SuzukiChopper

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Use Avast!. Home edition is free and it works great. It lets you know when the virus database has been updated, let's you know when a new version is available and has real time scans for surfing the web, checking both application email and web based email, instant messaging, etc.

smclear

Chief Petty Officer

Switch to Linux and just avoid the whole mess.

bowman316

Lieutenant Commander

i never even thought of trying to find a free ant virus,
i assumed they all would be spyware

axeslinger1957

Petty Officer 2nd Class

This is not trivial and should not be undertaken lightly!