Oopps..Did I screw up??

ifishhard

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I accidently overfilled my batteries with water! I am new to boating and I was always told to add water to your batteries.....What I didnt know is that you arent supposed to fill them up the whole way!:mad: AND I DID!:mad:....Yes, I filled them until they overflowed! The batteries are just 1.5yrs old. Did I just ruin my batteries?? CAn i just pour out the extra water to get them to the right level?? OR do I just need to go to bass pro and buy new batteries? I dont want to go fishing this weekend and be done at noon bc my batteries want hold a charge!! Thanks for any info!

rtpassini

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Oopps..Did I screw up??

you are supposed to use distilled water...did you at least use that?

rtpassini

Chief Petty Officer

also...im pretty sure you arent supposed to use batteries like that for your boat...could be wrong... why are they not factory sealed?

ifishhard

Petty Officer 2nd Class

you are supposed to use distilled water...did you at least use that?

Yes, I used distilled water. The marine trolling motor batteries at walmart are not sealed you can pop the caps off.....

rtpassini

Chief Petty Officer

yeah, i wouldnt fill them. if you fill them too full and charge them, im pretty sure they can mess stuff up.

redfury

Commander

older boat motors have charging systems that prefer serviceable batteries.

You can suck some of the excess water out and you should be fine, but don't get any on your clothing, it is now diluted with a small amount of battery acid. You can pour it down your drain in a small amount without harm, just be sure to flush the drain with at least a gallon of water to make sure the acid gets past any drain traps. The waste treatment facility can handle a little amount of acid, and so can a septic system.

tx1961whaler

Vice Admiral