My poor trailer brakes..Im ashamed...

s2gots

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Im ashamed to admit this, but after opening the cap to the brake fluid on the tongue for the first time since I got the boat(2 years ago) I found the inside full of rust, and nearly empty...:(
I must redeem my self with giving my baby a good 'once over' on the whole brake system...but I dont know what I should? There really is no fluid in there, and theres alot of loose rust. Can I just bleed the whole system out until clean fluid comes out, or is it easier/wiser to replace the surge brake at the tongue??? Like I said, I have never done anything like this before, but I want to learn so as I can keep up good maintenace from here on out. What advice can you guys give me???

Be gentle.....:redface:

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: My poor trailer brakes..Im ashamed...

Brake fluid absorbs moisure and since the cap on many surge brake couplers is vented, a great deal of moisture gets in the system. If the master cylinder is rusty, there is a good chance the rest of the system is too. You don't need to replace the coupler -- just the master cylinder. If there was any fluid in the system, I would then bleed the system, flushing a good quart or two of new fluid through it. See how it goes from there.

cadunkle

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Obviously clean out the master cylinde real good. If it's really crusty I'd replace it. Not sure if you got drums or discs, but particularly if drums, disassemble the hubs/brakes and ensure all parts move freely and no signs of leaks on calipers/wheel cylinders. For drums grease the backing plate rub points with a good marine grease, repack wheel bearings while you're at it. You should do this at the beginning and end of every season. Bleed it and if the brakes work well after that with no leaks or loss of fluid consider yourself good to go.