1990 18' Bayliner... What should I look for before I buy??

av8tor3sp

Cadet
Hello all.

This is my first time posting to this forum and also my first time getting ready to buy a boat, I need some feedback!!

I am considering purchasing an 18' bayliner capri with a 90hp force outboard. I really like the look of the bayliner and I can get a great deal on it, but with a great deal there comes some uncertainty.. The boat hasnt been started in a while and the only thing I am being told is that the boat only needs a starter and a battery and I will be good to go. The reason the boat is being put up for sale is because the seller wants a small fishing boat.

From what I have read on the force engines it seems like the starter does seem to present alot of problems. What else should I look for to make sure I am not buying a total dud? Are there any tests I can run on the engine without having a battery or a working starter?

I am not very wise in the ways of the outboard... I am somewhat mechanically inclined when it comes to my car though so I am not a stranger to working around an engine.

What should I look for around the engine and what should I look for around the boat to alert me of potential expensive problems?

Thank you for any help you guys can offer!

Bigprairie1

Commander
Re: 1990 18' Bayliner... What should I look for before I buy??

Welcome to the forum av8tor.
If you can...post a few pics? What area are you from and looking in?
Anyways, I have the identical boat to what you are looking for so here are a few tips:
1) Make sure the floor is solid. Get down on your hands and knees and check, look and poke for any soft spots around the centre bilge compartment and around the back motor and seat wells.
2) Check the transom around the motor for cracks, blemishes and repairs.
3) Get under the boat and check out the hull underside. Scratches? dings? gouges? repairs?....or easy beachings only?
Mechanically: