New to inboards

Speakrdude

Ensign
Well, Looks like my next project boat will be an 88 model Sea Ray 300 WE. It has twin inboard Merc. 5.7's. I am new to whole inboard idea so can anybody enlighten me to what kind of trannys (V-drives?) or anything else that may apply to inboards.

I have spent countless hours training Don S. on trailering techniques and other important stuff with I/O's but not much experience with the whole shaft, prop, rudder thing. It also has a Westerbek genny on board.

Thanks to all.

Jim

Last edited:

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: New to inboards

I have spent countless hours training Don S. on trailering techniques

"Dude, your boat is on the trailer backwards"

LOL, I remember that thead well, and it wasn't even on this forum ;)

Head up to the Adults Only sticky at the top of the forum and look for the service manual for your engines SN. Being an 88 it could be an 89, 2 different manuals. Get your serial number and find the right manual, there are sections in them for the inboards and the different transmissions.

One question though, didn't you get enought abuse from your previous boat rebuild?

arks

Lieutenant Commander

V Drive transmissions are available from a few manufacturers. The most popular are Paragon and Borg Warners' Velvet Drive. Their primary benefit is to allow the engine to be placed near the stern of the boat, allowing the builder to maximize interior living volume. Often the V Drive's shaft packing can be extremely difficult to service because if it's location directly beneath the engine.

Here's some info cut and pasted from various sources:

Paragon:
ParagonVDrive.jpg

Velvet Drive:
VELVET DRIVE 71 - 72 V-DRIVE