Bay Fishing!

Chsrlietuna

Cadet
I'm new to the hole saltwater thing, mainly fished party boats last summer for blues, stripers, and cod. I hear people talking about "bay fishing"! What do people catch while bay fishing and where can I find these bays in NY? I live upstate and would prefer not to have to drive all the way out on Long Island. Thanks in advance for info.:)

-C.Tuna

alangf

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Bay Fishing!

You say you are from "Upstate New York" but don't say how far upstate. You can catch pretty much anything you are likely to catch in a bay in the Saint Lawerence Seaway. Other than that and if you are further north I would consider the area around the Thousand Islands and the Great Lakes. Granted it is fresh water but the Great Lakes are more like fresh water oceans than lakes.

Chsrlietuna

Cadet

Guess I should have been more clear:confused:

I Live Near Albany and have just experienced saltwater fishing for the first time last summer. I caught blues, Cod, Haddock and Pollock. (and loved it)

I grew up in Wisconsin and have fished and caught all freshwater species available in the north with the exception of Sturgeon and the little gar they sometimes have. I recently purchased a 16 foot aluminum boat, I caught blues in a similar boat in NH last summer. I know I have to pick my days as the ocean can be bitchy. I am looking to find bays that are protected so if I tow the boat 3 hours it would be a good chance I would use it. I am looking to catch Blues, Stripers, fluke and anything else I can land. I'll shore fish if the seas are too rough.

I have heard of the Saint Lawrence and would like to check it out. It is also a hike from where I am. Where does the saltwater end? Where do you go for salmon and large trout? Right now I am gearing up for the upcoming Striped Bass season. (should start any day now)