50 hp yamaha - carb issue ???

m r ducks

Recruit
newbie here, any opinions appreciated.

I have an 04 50 hp yamaha 2 stroke that has been running great until the last 6-8 trips. I'll try to describe but I'm not real mechanically inclined so please bear with me.

-Motor starts normally and takes about 20-30 seconds to idle down -
-I then shift it into forward and throttle up fairly quickly but nothing like a bass fisherman taking off.
-So far so good -- motor runs fine as long as I want to run it BUT once it is good and warmed up and I stop - getting it to throttle back up can be problematic - especially under any kind of load - such as driving it back onto the trailer. Not always - just sometimes. The longer I run the motor - 15-20 minutes normally about 3/4 throttle the more likely it is to act up. Short trips don't seem to affect it as much.

It sounds like it is choking out, and simply sputters and putts - sometimes killing the motor all-together - maybe like the fuel line is sucking air or even water in the gas. It has always throttled back up eventually getting me back to the ramp - but something is not right.

I've changed gas and put on new a fuel line. I just had it in my local shop and they changed plugs (old ones looked good), changed oil in foot, and replaced impeller, adjusted the carb and the idle setting. I can take it back to them as I feel they have always treated me fairly but I don't know if I am describing the problem accurately enough for them to diagnose problem.

Any ideas ??? :confused:

BaileysBoat

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: 50 hp yamaha - carb issue ???

What you are describing sounds more like a lean condition?

The idle is ok, but the engine won't put out full RPM under load?

Is the primer bulb collapsing?

deejaycee_2000

Captain

make sure the choke closes all the way when you push it back in after starting ......

Dunaruna

Admiral

Does it have a choke? What model is it?

m r ducks

Recruit

choke = lever at the shift control ?