Shower/refer coating?

bhenry

Recruit
Hi,
I'm new to this very informative forum. I'm building a 40 Cape George Cutter and need a product to coat the shower stall and the refer/freezer boxes.

I've talked with reps from Petit, Interlux, System Three and my local supplier with not much success. I assumed a good 2 part poly would work well, but the folks I talked with were reluctant to give any of their products the green light. It is as if they had never heard such a question??? Don't most boat topsides get a little wet now and then?

At this point the shower has been glassed and coated with Duratech. The cooler boxes are lined with glass panels I laid up on melamine.

I'd like a roll/brush application, smooth, white, durable finish. I even thought of rolling gel coat, (never tried it), and might be able to live with a little texture. What about 2 part epoxy paints?

Any advice is much appreciated,

Bill

slasmith1

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: Shower/refer coating?

My whole head/shower is done in gel coat I don't know what your setup looks like but here is a pic of mine.
1946272_5.jpg

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

I did the shower in my mom's house with Brightsides about 6 years ago, it still looks great, upgrading to a two part paint should work very well for you.

Mark42

Fleet Admiral

My whole head/shower is done in gel coat I don't know what your setup looks like but here is a pic of mine.
1946272_5.jpg

Oh Man! What a nice head! Just seeing it makes me want to... ummm, never mind.

:D

bhenry

Recruit

Ondarvr,

thanks tor the reply. I've read some of your posts and respect your opinion. I figured a 2 part would work in the shower, but any idea how it would hold up in subzero conditions.
I'm planing on using Perfection -roll and tip. Do I need the $25 brush or can I use foam?

slasmith1,

was the gelcoat sprayed in a mold?

Bill

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

Freezing won't be an issue for the paint.

slasmith1

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Ondarvr,