what is throtle friction

funkenfresh

Cadet
hi all.. ive got loads of qestions as im new to boat motors..
but on my forward controls i have a turn knob labled 'throtle friction'..
could this be the cause of my motor spitting and sputering, (and not do a full speed at full forward on the foward controls). after 5 minutes run time in the water? when its out of water and attached to the hose.. is runs fine.. ive been told that the carbs might need a good clean... but it seems wierd how it runs good out of water and after 5 mins in water it gets all choked up..

Rick.

Captain
Re: what is throtle friction

What year and model are we talking about here? Throttle friction is just an adjustment that stops the throttle from moving on it's own and would not be the cause of your problem. "Attached to the hose" you have no load on the motor so it isn't a fair comparison. Let us know. Rick.

mthieme

Captain

Throttle Friction is an adjustment to 'tighten' the throttle so it will stay and whatever position you desire.
This has nothing to do with the running of the motor outside of setting the speed.

In the water you have a load. Not knowing anything about the motor, I can only recommend generically to go through the fuel system. Check the lines for cracks, stiffness, loose fittings - anywhere that it could suck air, check primer bulb for dryrot cracks - does the primer bulb get hard? - is the arrow in the right direction? On down the pike there is the fuel pump, a filter (hopefully) and finally the carb. The fuel pump and carb have rubber parts that don't last forever.

What model & year is it?

Mas

Lieutenant Commander

but it seems wierd how it runs good out of water and after 5 mins in water it gets all choked up..