Is $4000 for a 1989 VIP Vision 1700 too much?

jkboliphant

Cadet
Hello all,

Let me begin by saying that I am new to boating but have been looking at many many boats online. I came across this one it has a 2.3L 4 Cylinder Ford with a Cobra Outdrive that runs strong. The interior was redone 2 years ago and is flawless. 4000 for this seems a little high to me but then again I am not real sure what I am lookign at. A second qustion I am also curious about is that I want to make sure that I can Wakeboard behind whatever I get and the seller says that he was able to get up without a problem. I have read on other forums that it is smart to have closer to 200HP for an I/O to pull skiers and wakeboarders. Any information is greatly appreciated.

winfan

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Is $4000 for a 1989 VIP Vision 1700 too much?

Howdy and welcome to the iboats and the VIP section.

I brought my 1988 Vision last year for $3000. Same engine and out drive as yours. Some people say that I spent too much and some say I got a great deal. With me I feel I did good. In fact just finished having my boat completely serviced and totally regone over by my local boat mechanic. He was impressed with the boat and how "Mainly" it was taken care of. Of course there were some issues but nothing major. Yes my interior is in need of work, but that will come eventually. Just make sure that the OMC Cobra is well taken care of. Parts are available but some people say because they went out of business that is an issue. A Cobra will last forever if taken care of. That is what my mechanic told me and I feel good about it. But some just continue to bash OMC. I am not an advocate of any type because I am new to the boating world.