motor for 12 ft. zodiac

ak bike

Recruit
I have a 2002 mk 2c classic zodiac . 12 ft 4 inches I think. I have been running a 15 hp Johnson 2 cycle. I would like to increase the power to 25 hp . I am looking at various makes of 4 cycles . I would appreciate any info on a good hp for this boat and motor mfgs . I am looking at possibly a tohatsu. We use the boat for fishing and just running around. it will be hauled on a trailer. Appreciate any input .

kandil

Chief Petty Officer
Re: motor for 12 ft. zodiac

Hello and welcome to iboats what is your boat max HP rating? you should get at least 70% of that 25HP 4 strokes is a heavy motor I would get a 2 strokes instead

ak bike

Recruit

Kandil thanks for the reply, The boat is rated for a hi recommended of 25 hp . I would like 4 cycle as there are some spots that won't allow 2 cycles. I have been using a 15 hp 2 cycle on 12 zodiacs since 1984 and never tried more hp . The 15 is ok but a little more power would be nice . Wondering if anyone has a 20 hp 4 cycle on the 12 footer and can comare it with the 15 ... Thanks again

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner

A 20 HP 4 strokes engine will be perfect in weight and performance for that sib.

Happy Boating

kandil

Chief Petty Officer

Some of the new 2 strokes run cleaner than the 4 strokes and you can check with your local ranger about it I think the out board has to be EPA approved for example; Evinrude's E-TEC won the Clean Air Excellence Award from the US EPA in April 2005. The E-TEC two-stroke outboard engine carbon monoxide emissions are typically 30 to 50 percent lower than a similar four-stroke engine and, at idle, are lower by a factor of 50 to 100 times

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

Etec has just brought out a 25 dfi 2 stroke meets or exceeds all CARB specs
There is a test on the etec sight for a 12ft Nautica ,26 mph with about 1,000 total weight. Etec 25 as tested 177 lbs.I think electric start and remote.