Air Gun for Compressor

Solittle

Fleet Admiral
When I got my air compressor many years ago I got an unrestricted air gun. It lasted many years and finally gave out. All I see now are these OSHA restricted guns which limit the pressure. Any idea where I can get one of the old unrestricted ones?

WizeOne

Commander
Re: Air Gun for Compressor

I'm sure you could modify one. It is most likely a simple matter of orifice size.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

more air drill out the nozzle. more pressure, get a plug to fit, and drill out the size you want.

mthieme

Captain

That must have been decades ago. I was a mechanic in 70's & 80's. I had 'restricted' guns then. They posed no problems though. If you run tino something that the gun won't handle, you need a bigger gun.

chiefalen

Captain

Did you take it apart and see what broke??

If you don't think you can fix it look up a guy who fixes compressors, he would probably fix it. They are fixable. Maybe it's just the trigger or something simple.

That gun is from the 60's and my uncle has a few and has not used them cause he is retired but refuses to give them up. But he said they are willed to me, tough old bird he's still around, and i didn't want them that way.

mthieme

Captain

The tool trucks carry parts for them...vane kits, etc.
Might be a little tough finding a kit from the 60's though.

chiefalen

Captain

Bet they are not that much different from todays guns and maybe the maker is still in business. Take it apart and see, whats to lose.

mthieme

Captain

I was going to suggest something similiar.
The vanes could be easily sanded to fit what he has, other than that, it's o-rings and an odd gasket or two.

chiefalen

Captain

Thats it, i am so used to fixing my own tools, i don't even think about it, drills and such, just second nature i guess.