Opinions on Mercury 150? Low compression.

deputydawg

Lieutenant Commander
I am looking at buying a 1990 Sea Ray 180 Bowrider. It has a Mercury 150, the picture looks like it says Black Max on the side. I have not seen the boat in person yet, only pictures. The dealer says one cylinder was "scorched" resulting in excessive cylinder leakage and low compression. Not sure what scorched means.
My question is what is everyones opinion on this outboard? Are there any common problems associated with this engine? Any ideas on what might cause one cylinder to have low compression? And finaly are there any online manuals I can check out before I decide to go look at the boat?
I am looking for a project boat. I am a mechanic, and have a friend who knows marine mechanics so the repairs are not a problem. Also curious if anyone else has run into this kind of problem and if an overhaul would fix the problem with the low compression.

Thanks.

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner
Re: Opinions on Mercury 150? Low compression.

If it not locked up or thrown rod or piston thru block it can be fixed. The 1990 came two ways the 2.0 liter 150 and the 2.4 Xr4. Both are good engines and overhaul should fix engine. You will spend around $1200-1600 to get it right.

deputydawg

Lieutenant Commander

Thanks for the reply. I am waiting now for an E-mail from the dealership mechanic as to specifics on what is wrong with it.
Is that 1200 to 1600 include labor for a marine mechanic to do the work, or is it only parts and machine work?

Eshaw150

Petty Officer 1st Class

that should be about the whole shabang

Faztbullet

Supreme Mariner

This is for parts only,if in my shop labor would be around 650.00 12hr @ 55 per hour
6 pistons @ $100.00ea = 600.00
1 gasket set@ $100.00
1 misc bearings @ 250.00
1 impeller @ 25.00
3 carb kits @ $ 20.00=$60.00
1 misc sealers/cleaners= $35.00
Boring 6 @40.00ea =$240.00
misc shipping $30.00
grand total= $ 1330.00

deputydawg

Lieutenant Commander