piston scrubbed cylinder wall.

darren mac

Seaman Apprentice
Hi folks,
I had gotten some good replies on a ring end gap question so here goes another one. I decided to rebuild my motor myself . for fun I guess. My background is electro mechanical tech. and years as a machinist so I bought the manuals and decided to give it a go.
This motor had just been rebuilt by a marina and with less than a few hours of running time it blew too. Didn't even make it through break in. Any way when tearing down the motor I found that pistons 3 and 5 had scrubbed the cylinder walls but had yet to seize up the motor. All tolerences are within print on the cylinder walls and are not out of rounds or taper. Crankshaft tolerences are good also as well as the bearings and rods. Lots of carbon buildup on the crown of the pistons. I do know that too much oil was added to the gas when the marina test ran the boat when they rebuilt it. They accidently put two gallons of oil into a twenty gallon fuel tank and ran the motor along with the VRO oil. The power pack was going bad and not all cylinders were firing. I am changing out the bad pistons and really checking the other ones as well as installing a new powerpack. I am just trying to figure out the reason for why the pistons scrubbed ? And yes I am honing, cleaning, and rechecking the specs on all cylinders. Please help with the scrubbing reasons if possible, Thanks.

coolguy147

Commander
Re: piston scrubbed cylinder wall.

maybe the carbs arnt clean but i wouldnt imagine since the vro is puting oil and u premix y they would scrub like that? carbon build up is only from burning gas so wouldnt it just be oily and dirty if they werent firing my quess? what motor year etc give us info too

darren mac

Seaman Apprentice