ring end gap ?

darren mac

Seaman Apprentice
I am rebuilding my 175 faststrike myself. This is my first time. I had it rebuilt in the spring by a local marina. The motor gave me problems and when I had taken it to another marina I then found out the motor was blown . I am using the omc manual for this motor and I used the charts and the procedures listed to check the ring end gaps and found them out of tolerence. My cylinder bore dimensions are at their upper ends from 3.598 to 3.600 and when I put the rings inside the bore on at least 2 of the cylinders I found the end gaps at about .0400 instead of the .0110 to .0230 that the chart stated they should be. I am asking how critical these dimensions are and could this have caused the motor failure that I have experienced. Should I go to oversized rings? I am thinking in that direction. The power pack was found to be going bad and all cylinders were not always firing. The piston was scrubbing the bore wall but had not seized up the motor. the engine would still crank and rev up to it's full rpm but had lost compression on two cylinders. Any help on the ring gaps would be appreciated.

CharlieB

Vice Admiral
Re: ring end gap ?

.012 to .020 are good, stay towards the tight side.

Clean to piston tops and look carefully for any #'s, like 030 indicating an overbored cyl/piston which will require matching o/s rings.

James R

Commander

If you dont have a bore guage and know how to measure the bores you will be groping in the dark. A shop that bores outboads may be inclined to check the bores for you. Compare the measurements with the specs and that will tell you what you have and address accordingly.

darren mac

Seaman Apprentice