help I'm gona tear it down

rsgonza

Seaman
I'm a ford senoir master tech and have torn down an older 2 stroke merc.my questions this see lower topic stalling 90 hp and knocking well the knocking seem like a piston slap.comp is 130 all .can I have good comp and still have piston noise,I bought some gallon baggies a few small ice chests and the book.I have studied book now can I remove the cyl head to inspect pistons or do i have to remove powerhead also were can I get good qulity parts for cheap. and lastly any good tips I should know.please help.its a 2003 90 hp eltpo

jimg984

Chief Petty Officer
Re: help I'm gona tear it down

with 130 compression,,,,,, could be carbon on top of piston,,, wrist pin,,,if its carbon may could use seafoam, prob best to remove head

rsgonza

Seaman

thanks for the reply so is the head pretty easy to remove? mabye it is carbon build up boy that would be great.is there a way to test wristpin.we tested rod bearing play be putting cyls on tdc and pushing down on piston with a wooded stick all rods seemed tight.

CharlieB

Vice Admiral

That is NOT a cylinder head.

It is simply a cover for the water jacket, cooling the cylinder black/head ONE PIECE casting.

Pistons/rod assy is installed from the bottom side before the crank is set into place.

Look up part details here

http://www.mercruiserparts.com/selectSerailRange.asp?doc_nbr=90+(3+CYL.)

Use a stethoscope to better locate this noise.

K.I.S.S. Start with the basics, Check spark intensity on all cyl's.

Check ignition timing with a light, plugs out, wires connected to a spark tester, remote starter switch, check timing at an idle and again at wide open.

Repost your findings.

CharlieB

Vice Admiral

Oh, and try to keep it all together in ONE thread, multiple threads on the same problem are frowned upon.

rsgonza

Seaman