how cool is this Lowrance X0G GPS going to be?

wildmaninal

Lieutenant Commander
I don't know but I think I'm going to try it. I requested a GPS for x-mas, sort of hinted for the Magellan hand held, but I got the Lowrance instead. From what I understand this was in the same price range as the lower priced handheld Magellan. This is a crossover unit. I got it for a christmas gift. I read alot good reviews about it but I've also read some scary ones too. The battery life isn't rated very good but I don't plan on going anywhere with it unplugged.

I heard that a "lake chip" (right or something else), anyhow I heard a lake chip can be added to the unit. I'm new to GPS, I'm thinking there is a difference between downloading a lake map and buying a lake chip.

Am I right?

One fact about it that I read is that it has a higher pixel rating then other similar GPS units. Another is that you can use it with Google Earth, but I don't know what good that would be, unless you can use google earth as a pinpoint map.

Any tips or personal opinions about this unit are welcome.

I haven't even plugged it up yet, I've opened the box but haven't turned it on. From what I see it is a new unit and it doesn't have many accessories out for it yet. Another thing that I'm wondering is can there be patches for any glitches brought out to fix the problem if there is one?

xxturbowesxx

Chief Petty Officer
Re: how cool is this Lowrance X0G GPS going to be?

It takes Navionics or lowrance maps. Its a good unit but dont get it wet its not waterproof. Also make sure you get a charger for it in the boat as the battery only lasts about 2.5hrs. and as a tip it uses the same charger as the Motorola Razrs so get one from wally world for like $10 instead of the $30 they will try to sell you. Lowrance has free lake maps but they dont have most lakes. make sure if you buy a chip look to make sure that chip has the lakes you boat on.

wildmaninal

Lieutenant Commander