Cold rooms. Refrigeration.

Kiwi Phil

Commander
Anybody any experience with these things?

I don't want to do it, but I may have to consider a coldroom for a min of 3 pallets, possibly 4.

Product will be in carboard boxes, and when they go in sealed (they do have 6 slot-holes in them) the outside packing area will be anywhere from 25C-40C with high humidity.

They will only be there for 2-5hrs....until the truck arrives.

Not sure if I need to take the temp down to 4C, but I would like the contents in the carton to be maybe 18C-22C, dry (no hunmidity).

I have no knowledge or understanding of different types of refrigeration or the movement of cold air thru a pallet of boxes.

I do know I don't want the one that causes carboard boxes to absorb moisture and collapse.

Anyone know anything about them?

Cheers
Phillip

PS life is hell here at the moment.....36-40C with humidity I don't even want to know about....and we are out there working in it!!!

pduquette

Ensign
Re: Cold rooms. Refrigeration.

Hi Kiwi Phil !
I worked in a company that manufactured walk in cooler/freezers for about 10 years . I'll try to help with your questions as best I can . I was in the manufacturing / construction/ installation end of the business, not the designer /engeneering end .....:redface: I've put together small floral coolers to deep freeze wharehouses . If I remember right you run a floral farm / greenhouse ?

Kiwi Phil

Commander

I grow herbs, hydroponically, but in a small pots with potting mix.
They are in reality a pot plant, but water'd and fed by hydroponics.

They are classified as a green leaf product, similar category to lettuce.

If they get too cold, the basil burns....just like it would if grown in the ground and hit by a frost.

The boxes i use are black, so absorb the heat very quickly, and hold it.

Last week when the trucking company put a temp probe in the boxes while on the pallet, it measured 27C.