New life for 56 Bell Boy cruiser

Artpop

Seaman Apprentice
OK, I will get this thread going. My son and I have been working on our new/old boat for a few weeks now but have not posted anything yet, so here we go! We are the proud new owners of a 1956 Bell Boy 18 foot express cruiser named “Can Do”. Some of you may have seen this boat posted on the site by the previous owner. Check this out if you don’t remember or saw it. http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=278714 I think that this thread will be interesting for those who know that this is one of the first production boats ever made using fiberglass. About 5000 were made! Some of the techniques posted here on iboats were not even “invented” when this boat was made. And at the same time, many of the techniques used in making this boat are the same as those used in boat-building today. I will mostly be posting pics, and the inevitable questions that will arise. I am new to boat restoration, but grew up in the Seattle area, immersed in boating culture. I want to pass on to my son, some of the mechanical and woodworking skills both of my grandfathers taught me. Safety is important to me, so my son will be watching the glass work from a distance. The wood work will be “hands on” We will both be learning and having a great time doing it. This boat is a gem that deserves a new lease on life. The day I first saw this boat, I knew that under its rough exterior, it is in amazing shape. NO ROT. Even on the un-glassed wood under the sole. This boat has seen about as much water as a 5 year old boat, maybe less. I expect this to take at least a year, maybe 18 months. We have set aside Sundays to work on the “Can Do” I am sure our progress will seem slow to many, but it is the journey we are after, not the destination. But at the same time, we are itching to get on the water! Stay tuned.:D More cool pix to come.

Attachments

• IMG_2277.JPG
    IMG_2277.JPG
    84.5 KB · Views: 0

jcsercsa

Captain