starter fell off. +idle adjustment questions..etc....

Maldoror

Seaman Apprentice
my starter came off the motor when i was out yesterday.
'85 johnson seahorse 30hp.

i thought my battery had lost charge, but when i opened the case i found a bolt in the bottom of the motor and eventually figured out it held the starter on the block. the bolt is straight without a head on it. there is an unthreaded center with one side having more thread than the other side.

which side screws into the block? the short threaded side?

and am i just missing a nut to secure it or is there something more to the assembly?

i managed to get the bolt back in enough to hold the starter in place to engage the flywheel...and then i called off the tow company.

i think the threads are ok...is this indicative of any other problem? i've been tinkering with the idle to try to tune it, but i'm still learning how....so the motor has been rough at times.

while i'm thinking about it..some other things i'm trying to figure out since the seloc manual doesn't cover a lot about my motor. what is the stop-screw with spring that is linked to the control cables on the port side of the motor? is that the idle rpm screw? and the one on top of the carb is the idle mixture screw(is the idle mixture screw a.k.a the slow speed screw?) i made these assumptions and adjusted the idle according to the manual and things are running a lot better, but i'm still cutting a lot, in idle and in slow speed. especially when putting it into gear. the only way i can get in gear most times is by putting up the warmup lever for a minute. do i need to turn the rpm screw in more or turn the mixture screw in more or what? i've tried the lightly seated, 1 1/2 turns out, 1/8 turns in...1/4 turn out thing, but i'm a little confused by wording in that tutorial tashasdad...maybe you can write an "idle adjustments for idiots" post for me.

2 other ?s: