Mercruiser I/O Sterndrive...new to old?

DaBoats

Recruit
Well... I am completely new to the boat scene and forum for that matter, I was given what is believed to be a 1983 Beachcraft. It has a running mercruiser engine but no sterndrive. I looked up the serial on the gimble and says its a Mercruiser 1 drive (Pre-alpha?).

Now I also have another boat with what I have determined to be an Alpha I Gen II Sterndrive (older boat doesn't run but has upgraded powerplant from '93) I have been searching these forums and haven't been able to dig up enough information to answer my questions and was hoping you guys could help.

Since I have the complete set up of a Gen II Sterndrive, gimble...etc Can I pull that off the non running boat and set it up on the '83 Beachcraft with out removing engine, or patching and re-cutting the transom?
I know you cant just swap the sterndrives but since I have a complete set up I am hoping it will transfer over.

If not...I have found a sterndrive for sale pretty cheap it looks like the skeg is broken a bit and the guy says its in working order (but who knows). But its from a v-8 engine and I think my beachcraft is a 4-cyl (170 hp). Does this pose a problem, do they have different set ups for different HP engines and are they interchangable?

Really so far I haven't spent a dime for either of the boats and I would like to get one running boat for the least possible amount. I am mechanically inclined, I wrench on trucks, cars, bikes..etc but have never had or worked on a boat. I only say this because if swapping in the Gen II sterndrive is possible I think I could do it and would love to learn!

Thanks in advance to everyone who takes the time to read this and lend a helping hand!!!

JustJason

Vice Admiral
Re: Mercruiser I/O Sterndrive...new to old?

Everything prior to Gen 2 is not interchangable. if you were going to swap it all over to a Gen 2 setup you start at the inner transom plate and end at the propeller.