New to iBoats with my 71 Glasstron

mydeckisbrokt

Seaman Apprentice
Hi all, I wanted to start by thanking all the folks that put their time and efforts in helping others with their projects. The information that I have obtained from searching in these forums is priceless, so thanks to all for sharing your knowledge and experience in boat restoration!

So I come to this forum with a 71(might be a 71) Glasstron Fisherman! I bought this boat for $200 bucks, knowing that I had to redo the deck, and might as well redo the transom as well. Fishing has just not been the same from the bank, and I love a good project. The boat has not been registered since 99', so it has been neglected long enough.

I am new to boat repair and don't know the names of all of the boat parts, so educate me at will!

I will add more pictures a long the way. I am going to be in process of ripping out the old deck and I need to drill a hole in the transom and see what the wood is like.

A few questions.

First, any Ideas on non-wooden stringers? what options are there here? I would like to avoid future rot.

The top piece of the boat the mounts to the hull(whats that called?) I would have to remove this in order to replace the transom. Before I remove myself, I want to make sure I can reattach it myself as well. Is there any specific way to attach the hull to this piece? sorry I dont know the name.

There will be more questions and pics along the way. Thanks in advance!

boat.JPG

oops!

Supreme Mariner
Re: New to iBoats with my 71 Glasstron

welcome to i boats ! :)

the links td gave you are great tutorials....i re read them all the time.
they can save you bundles of time.

johnny did a glastron v 156 ....the link is called pics of work so far.

there is also a book called runabout renovation by jim anderson...it is a good little guide......very vague on the specifics...but you will come away knowing you can do it.

question 1 ....does the motor work ?