Is this set up fast enough to pull a skier?

kandil

Chief Petty Officer
Hello I am new to boating and skiing and I was wondering if I could get some advice about my setup and it's ability to pull a skier.I have an inflatable Tunnel hull type saturn x cat 13 with a 25hp Tohatsu that is modified to 30hp:D it planes the boat very fast.I have 2 U bolts on the transom 1 on each side of the outboard and 1 self centering tow harness
with 2 people on board and all my gear I can get up to 32mph GPS maybe more on WOT I did not try!!my questions are:
1-how fast do I need to go to pull 180 pound person?I read here that you can do it with speed over 22mph is this true?or there are some rules for that to happen:confused:
I have the original prop on it but I could not read the # on it it looks like a 10 and 15 I can not read it is that possible and I was going to buy another one and would like to know
2-what size and pitch should I get to improve performance for skiing? and what type prop is better fixed hub or hub kit type?
3- what type of ski should I get?
thank you in advance for your input

mthieme

Captain
Re: Is this set up fast enough to pull a skier?

Doubtful.
I don't think a 25 has sufficient torque to get someone out of the water.

kandil

Chief Petty Officer

would a prop with the right pitch help at take off with the torque issue?

mthieme

Captain

In this case, there is no substitute for cubic inches.

Dunaruna

Admiral

Just last weekend I saw a couple of teenagers skiing off a 12fter with a 30hp. They had to do running starts which puts a hell of a lot of pressure on the transom but once they were up to speed, no problems. How will your transom hold up?

SnappingTurtle

Lieutenant

There are a group of teenagers we see every weekend with a German made 3.8m Wiking and a 30hp Merc motor.

komet2g.jpg

dorado1g.jpg

Two in the boat and one on waterskis. They are generally out for the whole day. They have no problem.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner