Help 35 Horse Chrysler Outboard Problem

CaptainKen

Recruit
I have an older 35 horse Chrysler. It starts great and runs great at very low speed but when I give it the gas it sounds like the prop is spinning in air or clutch slipping or something. Someone told me it's not worth fixing but don't know if they were being honest with me. Can it be fixed reasonably or can I get another another lower unit at a reasonable price? I am new to the boating world. Thanks.:confused:

maxum247

Lieutenant
Re: Help 35 Horse Chrysler Outboard Problem

What is the shaft length of the engine and what is the depth of your transom? Do they match?

CaptainKen

Recruit

OK, I'm a dummy but I assume you mean the transom is the very bottom of the boat.

The flat plate above the prop is about 4 inched below the bottom of boat. so I don't think the prop is actually coming out of the water.

I put a picture of the motor/boat in this post. I can tell you it is a long shaft.

Someone told me there is a rubber boot or whatever that could be chewed up but I see no boot. When I got the boat it had no shear pin in it and thought that would be the problem. I did replace it but again I can only go in slow speed. The splines in it see to be OK from hat I can tell by looking at it.

Thanks for your help.

Attachments

• Chrysler Motor.jpg
    Chrysler Motor.jpg
    23.6 KB · Views: 0

eurolarva

Rear Admiral

One problem you have is you have a long shaft motor on a short shaft boat. The plate you mentioned is called an anti ventilation or anti cavitation plate and it should be even with the very bottom of the hull. I can see from the pic that this plate is at least 4 inches lower then the bottom of the boat. In order to convert this motor you would need a smaller water tube a smaller drive shaft and then you would just have to take off the extension between the lower unit and the motor leg.