Anchoring a boat off a beach

caken

Seaman
I am headed to the colorado river this weekend and am going to a spot that requires anchoring instead of beaching boats because of the tide. I have never done this before and would love any help or advice on how to do this so my boat does not float away :)

Thanks

jacknbella

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Anchoring a boat off a beach

The Colorado River rises and falls with the tides? I was not aware this took place on inland waterways. Wow, I learned something today!!! Thanks! :)

Mwp909

Petty Officer 3rd Class

Any time Iv ever anchored on a river we always anchor with the bow up river. I then use two anchors that are strong enough to hold the boat; I toss one out to the left and one out to the right. I also use ropes that are about 25ft longer than the water is deep. This way the boat can rise and fall with the water and not really move.

I have also tied up to the bank, from both sides of the river if I?m in a cove. Just tie far enough up the bank that you?ll still be above the water line. Make sure you give enough slack for rise and fall of the tide.

Mark42

Fleet Admiral

I thought it odd that the Colorado River would be tidal. So I looked it up on the net, and found this:

Releases from Davis and Parker dams will vary from about 4,600 cubic feet per second (cfs) to 19,000 cfs during a 24-hour period. River levels will vary during the 24-hour periods with the higher levels coinciding with periods of peak hydroelectric power generation. Levels below the dams are usually highest during the afternoon and early evening. Average daily releases may vary in response to changing conditions
Source: coloradoriverinfo.com

Cool! A man made tidal situation.

caken

Seaman

Thanks for the advice. I have also seen in some pictures a line from the back of the boat to shore. Is this necessary or will the two anchors be sufficient?

Mwp909

Petty Officer 3rd Class