Different Hull Designs ....

PMH

Cadet
Hello All,<br /><br />I'm a bit new to the boating world and was hoping I could ask a few fundamental boating questions.<br /><br />Flat Bottom, V, Deep V, Tri-hull, Catamaran, pontoon(if that's even considered a hull) .... these are just a few of the hull terms I hear being tossed around. I can visually see the differnce in these hulls, but was wondering what makes each special. <br /><br />What advantages/disadvantages do these hulls have? Why choose one over the others?<br /><br />Thanks!<br />Patrick

D

DJ

Re: Different Hull Designs ....

PMH,<br /><br />Each of the hull types you mentioned have strengths and weaknesses.<br /><br />Tri-Hull, Cat, Pontoon, Flat. All of these hulls offer one strength-stability at rest. However all of these (except tri hull and flat) tend to rob horsepower and are not stellar performers-speedwise. Some will debate that the cat. is the way to go now, but most cats. require dual engines and are wide-a major consideration for towing.<br /><br />Tri hulls and flat bottoms tend to ride a bit rougher in choppy seas.<br /><br />V-Hulls. There are many compromises here also. Generally, v-hulls tend to ride better, yet they can be "tender" at rest (read tippy). A severe deep v can also be somewhat fuel thirsty.<br /><br />Tell us what you are looking at and what you'll use it for and we'll happily make suggestions.

Hooty

Rear Admiral