1959 johnson super sea horse 35 LU problem

bro460

Cadet
Let's start by saying I just got my brother's boat and motor off him and have actually made some headway with it. My brother is Loopie on this site he has pics of the motor in question. He neglected to tell me though that he ran a riverbank a couple times and messed up the shifter/LU unit. I got it running on both cylinders again (coil wire was broken, replaced both) and now my problem is in the LU not shifting out of drive/forward. It is a manual shift and should be pretty straight forward. I have the LU off of it right now but, I haven't tore it apart yet. Is there anything I should know before dis-assembly of the LU? I don't have a manual and am a mechanic by trade so that will help with things. Any and all help is very appreciated.

The problem is it will not shift at the LU but, the upper mechanism is working good. Brother "loopie" has a complete 56/57 Johnson 35 will that LU work on my motor being a 59? If it will is there any mod's I have to do?:confused:

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1959 johnson super sea horse 35 LU problem

57 has only one water tube, doe yours have one or two water tubes. i believe they made it both was in 59.

tmcalavy

Rear Admiral

Ditto. You need to check any donor LU you are considering...it has to be an exact match. They made them both ways starting in 58 and on into 59.

CATransplant

Admiral

The 59 Super Sea Horse has two water tubes. In 1958, there were two versions of the 35. The Super Sea Horse, RDS-20, and the RD19. All of the Big Twins with the extra midsection housing have two tubes, and all of the RD and RK series after 1958 have two tubes.

bro460

Cadet