i need help towing for the first time

cubajean10

Cadet
i recently purchased a boat so yes i'm a newb, basically i was wondering if an "experienced sailor" can help me tow my boat to the launch ramp. it's in a dry storage area in oxnard, ca and 2 months have passed by and i haven't used it because i have no idea how to tow it.
the info:
boat:
1985 bayliner ciera 2750 27"
car:
1990 chevrolet suburban 2500
any volunteers ? :D
thank you in advance

6MISFITZ

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: i need help towing for the first time

Hello and welcome to the forum.
It is a bit of a drive for me, but I am sure someone in your area should be be able to better help you.

I would also suggest picking up a towing guide from your local GM dealer which will give you some ideas and safety hints to help you master the art of towing and backing. It is where my wife started many years ago and now has no issues towing - or backing up our large travel trailer.

Safe boating,
Mike.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

sure i will go with you, if you pay round trip. lol. when backing place you hand at the bottom of the steering wheel, move your hand the direction you want the trailer to go. over steering is a big problem to get use to.

if you can't find someone at work or a friend. try going to the boat ramp, and talk to a couple of people. you may meet a new friend, and some one to teach you.

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner

Practicing in an empty parking lot on a Sunday morning will help you considerably. When out in traffic leave some extra stopping distance till you get used to your rig. When you are happy with your progress get down to a ramp at a quiet time and drop her in. Read up in the "stupid human tricks" section before you do. You will learn a lot about what not to do in there.

Bob in Calif.

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Gee, I'm suprised nobody said, "Don't forget the plug."

...Bob in Calif...

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner