93 Mercury 135 EL/PTO Oil Alarm Issue

CapnnaD

Recruit
I have a 93 Merc 135 EL/PTO and am having a rather strange issue. I was out on the lake cruising at about 30 MPH or so and got the Beep, Beep, Beep alarm. I know that this is the oil pressure alarm so I immediately shut down and was towed to my trailer by some good samaritans. Upon examination, I noticed that the small reservoir on the outboard (not the main oil tank on the boat) was full. When I removed the cap of the reservoir and the plunger dropped, the alarm stopped. Obviously this is backward of the way the system should operate (the alarm should sound if the plunger drops showing a low oil situation). I took it to a Merc. service center, and they had three guys trying to diagnose the problem for four hours. They tried a new cap on the reservoir and did additional diagnostics to try to isolate the problem, but were unable to. I am a good mechanic, but outboards are a new world for me. Any advice would be much appreciated. I am a new poster here, but have read and learned much from this forum.
Thanks for your help. -Dan

achris

More fish than mountain goat
Re: 93 Mercury 135 EL/PTO Oil Alarm Issue

Welcome to iBoats...

Oil warning system on those engines has multiple parts... Warning module, switch in the cap on the internal tank, hall effect sensor in the oil pump and the engine speed sensor (a wire run from the switch box to the warning module) and the beeper in the control box....

I would start to suspect the module as the culprit, as the others can't create your symptom, only the electronics box...

What did the shop replace?

Chris.....

CapnnaD

Recruit